Roeland Krak wins the ENIAC Best Thesis Award 2017!

22 March 2018, Roeland Krak has received the ENIAC Thesis Prize for the college year 2016-2017. Associated is €500,- prize money, as well as a work of art in the price range of €150 to €200. All nominees have also received the book Start with Why.


All nominees, from left to right: Hendrik Folmer & Robin Appel,  Herson Tobías Esquivel Vargas & Roeland Krak. Marije de Heus (on the right) was the chair of the jury.

All nominees, their thesis’ names and departments:

  • Robin Appel & Hendrik Folmer, with “Analysis, optimization, and design of a SLAM solution for an implementation on reconfigurable hardware (FPGA) using CλaSH”, nominated by CAES
  • Roeland S. Krak, with “Cycle-Accurate Timing Channel Analysis of Binary Code”, nominated by FMT
  • Rutger Varkevisser, with “Large Scale Online Readability Assessment”, nominated by HMI
  • Herson Tobías Esquivel Vargas, with “Automatic Deployment of Specification-based Intrusion Detection in the BACnet Protocol”, nominated by SCS

Thanks to the jury: Marije de Heus (external), Rom Langerak (UTwente, informatics-related) and Stefan Kooij (UTwente, non-informatics-related). They scored all theses on the following criteria:

  • Scientific approach
  • Practical approach (“engineering approach”)
  • Difficulty of research
  • Readability and usability of thesis to specialists and computer scientists in general
  • Benefits of research / development for greater good

Thanks all for attending, and good luck with your future careers!

Geef een reactie

Gelieve met een van deze methodes in te loggen om je reactie te plaatsen: logo

Je reageert onder je account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Google photo

Je reageert onder je Google account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )


Je reageert onder je Twitter account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Facebook foto

Je reageert onder je Facebook account. Log uit /  Bijwerken )

Verbinden met %s

Deze site gebruikt Akismet om spam te bestrijden. Ontdek hoe de data van je reactie verwerkt wordt.